Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Milko E. van der Boom

Milko E. van der Boom


Head of the Organic Chemistry Department

The Bruce A. Pearlman Professional Chair in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Milko E. van der Boom received his B.Sc. degree (1992) from the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands, and an M.Sc. degree (1994) in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Amsterdam (with Prof. Kees Elsevier). He earned his Ph.D. degree with distinction in 1999 from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel (with Prof. David Milstein). After 3 years of postdoctoral research with Prof. Tobin J. Marks at Northwestern University in the United States, he became a Faculty member in the Weizmann Institute's Department of Organic Chemistry.

His interdisciplinary materials chemistry research focuses on metalloorganic-oriented synthetic and mechanistic studies. His main interests spanning around various aspects of Molecular Assemblies aiming at a priori design of molecule-based materials with a set of predetermined properties and/or functions. He is the author of > 160 publications with more than 4000 citations.

Prof. van der Boom's prizes and honours include Adama Prize for Technological Innovation by the Israel Chemical Society; Alon Fellowship from the Israel Council for Higher Education, the Henri Gutwirth Prize from the Technion, and the Israel Chemistry Society's Prize for Excellent Young Chemists. He is the first incumbent and current holder of the Bruce A. Pearlman Professional Chair in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.