Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Team Canada

Every year, the Youth Science Foundation (YSF) Canada selects 16 members to form Team Canada and represent our country at the world’s largest pre-university science fair.

Every summer, the Faculty of Science, assisted by faculty members from the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, plays host to Team Canada's 16 members. The team spends a day at Ontario Tech University exploring its campus and various labs. In addition, students practice their Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) presentations, which include topics ranging from physics and engineering to life sciences and biotechnology. Team members receive valuable feedback and presentation advice from faculty and staff.

Each year through a competitive selection process, Team Canada, comprised of high school students from across Canada, is chosen by a panel of:

  • educators
  • industry researchers
  • Team Canada alumni
  • university faculty members