Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Ontario Tech University faculty

  • Faculty of Science
    • Nisha Rani Agarwal, PhD, Assistant Professor, Physics: Development of novel techniques for nano-scale characterization of surface properties, including new emerging high-resolution (nanoscale regime) technologies and its integration with Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) and Raman spectroscopy. 
    • Yuri Bolshan, PhD, Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry: Our research is focused on the development of novel reactions, medicinal chemistry, and synthesis of biologically active natural products.
    • Anatoli Chkrebtii, PhD, Professor, Physics: Quantum physics of the solid state and its surfaces. Theory of dynamical, electronic and optical properties of solids and their application to semiconductor growth and microelectronic devices. Solar cell optimization.
    • Hendrick De Haan, PhD, Associate Professor, Computational Biophysics: Modeling and simulation of biological molecules, and their interactions with nanotechnology.
    • Jean-Paul Desaulniers, PhD, Professor, Chemical Biology: Synthesis of artificial nucleic-acid and peptide-based materials by chemical modification. Structure-function relationships of novel biomaterials.
    • Brad Easton, PhD, Professor, Chemistry: Novel materials for electrochemical energy and sensor devices. This includes new alloy electrocatalysts and novel electrode structures for fuel cells, supercapacitors, sensors and electrochromic.
    • Franco Gaspari, PhD, Professor, Physics: Materials and devices research and development program in the areas of thin film amorphous silicon and carbon, and emerging nano-crystalline materials for application in the fields of renewable sustainable energy (photo-voltaic) and biomedical devices.
    • Brian MacLean, PhD, Adjunct Professor, Chemistry, St. Francis Xavier University: Synthesis of conjugated organic polymers/metal-polymer hybrid materials, electrocatalysts for CO2 reduction and H2 evolution, electrochemical investigations of charge transport in conducting polymers.
    • Fedor Naumkin, PhD, Associate Professor, Chemistry: Computational Nanoscience; ab initio-based studies of nanometer-scale polyatomic systems (intermolecular complexes, clusters, interfaces), their structural, electronic and related properties. Applications: new materials, catalysis and other processes, and molecular electronics.
    • Theresa Stotesbury, PhD, Assistant Professor, Chemistry:  Soft-material development and characterization, hydrogels for forensic tissue simulants, molecular characterization of forensic materials 
    • Isaac Tamblyn, PhD, Adjunct Professor, Physics: Theory of nanostructured materials and devices for renewable energy applications. Artificial photosynthesis and water splitting.
    • Liliana Trevani, PhD, Associate Professor, Chemistry: Physical chemistry of hydrothermal systems, design and development of electrochemical and spectroscopic tools for high temperature aqueous systems, synthesis of new materials using supercritical fluids. Applications: energy production and conversion, geochemistry. 
    • Olena Zenkina, PhD, Associate Professor, Chemistry: Research interests include the design of hybrid “smart” nanomaterials, chromogenic functional devices, materials for energy storage or remediation, SAMs for sensing/ bio-sensing applications or catalysis. 
  • Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
    • Ahmad Barari, PhD, Associate Professor
    • Ghaus Rizvi, PhD, Professor: Reinforced wood composites with superior mechanical properties, development of extrusion processing, technology for manufacture of fine-celled plastic/wood. Fibre composite foams.
  • Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
    • Matthew Kaye, PhD, Associate Professor: Nuclear materials, high temperature materials chemistry, applied thermodynamics, phase diagram modelling, nuclear safety.
    • Brian Ikeda, PhD, Associate Professor: Corrosion of materials in molten fluoride salts, electrochemical and physical degradation of fluorine anodes, corrosion of nuclear waste container materials, stress-assisted corrosion cracking of metals, localized corrosion of metals at elevated temperatures, long-term performance assessment of materials, radioactive waste management.
    • Markus Piro, PhD, Assistant Professor