Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Physics research

As an important aspect of scientific research at Ontario Tech University, physics-oriented research projects are directed towards applications in modern technology and rapidly growing interdisciplinary fields, such as sustainable energy sources and environmental sciences. These projects involve various sources of funding, from government organizations to industrial companies, and benefit from both national and international collaborations.

Student involvement in all stages of research is a crucial part of many projects. It allows you to gain experience in technology-oriented projects, resulting in publications in scientific literature and participation at scientific meetings. Graduate students are always actively involved in research. However, as a new university, we also provide undergraduate students with an opportunity to participate in research projects under faculty supervision.

The three main areas of physics research at our university are emerging energy technologies, computational physics and materials science.

Research areas