Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Ecosystem Health

Ecosystem Health focuses on:

  • Determining the implications of external toxicants on the health of ecosystems.
  • Discovering indicators for environmental problems.
  • Developing methods to lessen human exposure to toxicants.
  • Investigating environmental microbiology.
  • Determining the micro and macro-environmental factors causing disease.

In addition, researchers in the program will investigate related areas such as environmental microbiology, the pathophysiology of environmental disorders and the micro- and macro-environmental factors causing cancer. Research in this field will focus on specific environmental problems and develop solutions that will benefit Canadians.


  • Caroline Barakat-Haddad, PhD, Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS).
  • Julia Green-Johnson, PhD, Faculty of Science (FSci).
  • Douglas Holdway, PhD, FSci.
  • Holly Jones-Taggart, PhD, FHS.
  • Andrea Kirkwood, PhD, FSci.
  • Denina Simmons, PhD, FSci.
  • Janice Strap, PhD, FSci.